The Blog Formerly Known as Rebel Prince

Cult TV, Gen Y rants, and endless opera.

In Defence of the Sitcom

Posted by therebelprince on October 29, 2016

#Throwback to one of my late night rants – see the sidebar for more.

The Blog Formerly Known as Rebel Prince

Khandi Alexander, Dave Foley, and Phil Hartman in “NewsRadio”

I have a lot of free time at the moment. I could use this to write, to go to the gym, to work on those thousand paper cranes that I’ve been meaning to get around to… Instead, I watch classic sitcoms. And all this time spent in front of the idiot box has got me thinking about laugh tracks: they’re something most older audiences took for granted, but which far too many people my age are willing to write off as “dated”, “fake”, “patronising”, and what have you. These can all be true (anyone who ever watched travesties like Less Than Perfect or According to Jim can attest), but it’s by no means universal. The laugh track is a vital part of sitcom history, and I think it’s more important than many would like to believe.

View original post 3,088 more words

Leave a Reply

 
